The story

Three Powers

Three Powers

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

The Brazilian territory is divided into states, and these are divided into municipalities. How are they governed? Who governs the county, state and country?

Brazil, its states and municipalities have a government. This government is responsible for drafting laws, collecting taxes and providing services to the population. Who takes care of public lighting and garbage collection, for example, is the City Hall (the municipal government). Public safety is the responsibility of the state government. And, all matters related to the defense of the country (Army) are the responsibility of the Union (the federal government).

The municipalities are governed by the mayors and vice mayors. The states, by the governors and vice governors, and the country is governed by the president and vice president. They are all elected by the population, that is, they are chosen by the vote of most people, so that they can exercise power in their name. They hold public office that can be filled by both men and women.

The power exercised by mayors, governors, and presidents is called executive power. It gets its name because it is up to its representatives to put the laws into practice, ie enforce them and administer public affairs, such as collecting taxes, deciding where the money collected will be spent, how many public schools or hospitals will be built in a year, how many and which streets will be paved, etc. The executive branch is assisted in its task of governing by the legislature and the judiciary.

O legislative power is responsible for drafting and passing laws. To compose the Legislative power, are also elected by vote, the councilors, the deputies (state and federal) and senators.

O judicial power It's the overseer. He ensures that these laws are enforced and ensures the rights of individuals. The judiciary includes judges and prosecutors.

In this photo, you can see the Three Powers Square in Brasilia (DF), where is the seat of the Executive (Planalto Palace), Legislative (National Congress) and Judiciary (Palace of Justice), and the Esplanade of Ministries, where the ministers assisting the president of the republic work.

The organization of power in the Republic

The word Republic means "public thing, everybody's thing", indicating a system of government that aims to meet the interests of all citizens. In one republic, the country is governed by the president, who is elected by the people by direct vote.

From 1889 to the present day, the system of governments in Brazil is republican. In a Republic, the government is not hereditary, that is, it is nothing more than father to son. Rulers are elected by vote to exercise power for a specified period (in the case of Brazil, for 4 years) and may be reelected only once.