Solar system

Solar system

We are searching data for your request:

Forums and discussions:
Manuals and reference books:
Data from registers:
Wait the end of the search in all databases.
Upon completion, a link will appear to access the found materials.

The Solar System consists of the Sun and the set of celestial bodies located in the same gravitational field.

The Solar System includes planets, dwarf planets, asteroids, comets and meteoroids (meteorites).

There are numerous theories that try to explain how the Solar System was formed. However, the most accepted is the Nebular Theory or Nebular Hypothesis, which says that the formation of the system was through a large cloud formed by cosmic gases and dust, which at some point began to contract, accumulating matter and energy, giving thus rise to the sun.

The planets elliptically orbit the sun, each with its own characteristics, such as mass, size, gravity, and density. Planets that are closer to the sun have solid composition, while planets that are closer to the sun have gaseous composition.

Among the other celestial bodies, asteroids are smaller than planets and are composed of nonvolatile minerals.

Comets are composed of volatile ice that extends through the nucleus, hair and tail. Methoids They are composed of tiny particles that, when they reach the ground, if so, are called meteorites. The Solar System is contained in the Milky Way, which still houses about 200 billion stars.

Solar System Planets

Eight planets orbit around the sun: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. We can classify the planets as solid or gaseous, or, more specifically, according to their physicochemical characteristics, as the planets closest to the sun being solid and dense but of negligible mass; and the most distant planets being low density massive gaseous.

From its discovery in 1930 until 2006 Pluto was considered as the ninth planet of the Solar System. But in 2006, the International Astronomical Union created the dwarf planet classification. Currently, the Solar System has five dwarf planets: Pluto, Eris, Haumea, Makemake, and Ceres. All are plutoids, except Ceres, located in the asteroid belt.

The masses of all these objects together constitute only a small portion of the total mass of the Solar System (0.14%), with the Sun concentrating most of the total mass of the Solar System (99.86%). The space between celestial bodies within the Solar System is not empty, but is filled with plasma from the solar wind, as well as dust, gas, and elementary particles that make up the interplanetary medium.